Individual Speedway Euro Championship: Janusz Kołodziej wins Final 2 in Güstrow

Individual Speedway Euro Championship:
Janusz Kołodziej wins Final 2 in Güstrow

Janusz Kołodziej once again demonstrated that the track in Guestrow is one of his favorites. He won the second round of the TAURON Speedway Euro Championship and secured his first points in this year’s series. Mikkel Michelsen claimed the second place and the lead position in the overall classification. Andzejs Lebedevs finished third.
After the absence caused by an injury during the first round in Częstochowa, it could be expected that the silver medalist from last year’s SEC would do everything to make up for the points against his opponents. However, Janusz Kołodziej’s performance on the German track was close to perfection. He won 4 out of 5 heats and confidently advanced to the final.
A similar form was shown by Mikkel Michelsen in Guestrow. A failed eleventh heat, in which he finished behind Kołodziej, Lindbaeck, and Madsen, allowed him to advance to the final from the second place.
Andzejs Lebedevs and Antonio Lindbaeck provided a positive surprise. Both riders met in the 17th heat, which turned out to be crucial in determining the order of places in the Last Chance Heat. The Latvian won it, while unfortunately, the Swede suffered motocycle failure.
The disappointment of the tournament was Leon Madsen, who scored only 4 points in 5 heats. The representatives of Germany – Kai Huckenbeck and Norick Bloedorn – could also finish the competition with a sense of dissatisfaction. They brought in 7 and 3 points respectively.
The outside starting positions proved to be very beneficial for the riders. From them, in the Last Chance Heat, Andzejs Lebedevs and Dominik Kubera launched, maintaining the first two places by crossing the finish line ahead of Patryk Dudek and Antonio Lindbaeck.
In the final, the standout performer during the second round, Janusz Kołodziej, held off Mikkel Michelsen’s attacks and won Final 2 in Guestrow.
In the overall classification, Mikkel Michelsen took the lead, having a 9-point advantage over Leon Madsen. Kacper Woryna, Andzejs Lebedevs, Patryk Dudek, and Janusz Kołodziej moved into the top positions.
The next event will be held on the 9th of September in Bydgoszcz, Poland.

Final 2 top three
1.  Janusz Kołodziej, POL, 17 points
2.  Mikkel Michelsen, DEN, 14 points
3.  Andzejs Lebedevs, LAT, 11 points

1. Mikkel Michelsen, DEN, 29 points
2. Leon Madsen, DEN, 20 points
3. Andzejs Lebedevs, LAT, 19 points

Visit the Track Racing page
Visit SEC official web site