Individual Speedway Championship: QR1 and QR2

Individual Speedway Championship:
QR1 and QR2

The holiday long weekend for the Labour Day didn’t stop the European world of motorcycling competitions.
The season of the SEC, the Individual Speedway Championship, started today with a double challenge: the QR1 in Debrecen, Hungary, and the QR2 in Mureck, Austria.

The first of the four qualifying rounds was held in Debrecen. On the track for the QR1, where the first round of TAURON SEC 2024 is set to take place on June 8, the one who shown the brightest was Anders Thomsen. The Dane finished with a maximum of 15 points. Second place, behind for just one-point, Swedish rider Jacob Thorssell. The minor point differences in the final classification meant that the last two places that were eligible for promotion to the SEC Challenge were decided by an extra race. In the end, Kacper Woryna finished third, while Jevgenijs Kostigovs took fourth place.

QR1 top four
1. Anders Thomsen, DEN,15 points
2. Jacob Thorssell, SWE, 14
3. Kacper Woryna, POL, 12+3
4. Jevgenijs Kostigovs, LAT,12+2

The second qualifying round took place in Mureck, Austria, where Timo Lahti dominated the competition, securing his spot in the SEC Challenge with 14 points. Frederik Jakobsen and Erik Riss finished with 12 points each, claiming second and third places respectively. The last position giving promotion to the tournament in Daugavpils was decided by an extra run, in which Bartłomiej Kowalski faced Tom Brennan. In the end, the Polish, who replaced the injured Antti Vuolas just before the competition, was the winner.

QR2 top four
1.Timo Lahti, SWE, 14 points
2. Frederik Jakobsen, DEN, 12
3. Erik Riss, GER, 12
4. Bartłomiej Kowalski, POL, 11+3

FIM Europe Track Racing page
Tauron SEC