SEC: Lebedevs wins Final 1

Lebedevs wins Final 1

Final 1 of the Speedway Euro Championship 2024 series took place in Debrecen, Hungary, and saw Andzejs Lebedevs claim the victory in a single round for the first time in his career.

But it was Jacob Thorssell to have a phenomenal start: the Swede, substituting the injured Dimitri Berge, unexpectedly won the inaugural heat. Andzejs Lebedevs finished second, overtaking Mikkel Michelsen on the first lap. Kacper Woryna confidently won the second heat, thanks to a great start from the fourth gate.

Timo Lahti began the second series with a victory. Thorssell was second, increasing his tally to five points. Surprisingly, Leon Madsen finished fourth for the second consecutive time. Mikkel Michelsen also struggled, the three-time Individual European Champion had only two points after two series.

Maciej Janowski had to wait until his third race to secure his first victory in this year’s cycle. The winner of the SEC Challenge in Daugavpils scored three points in the 9th heat. Michelsen, after a poor start, bounced back by skillfully using the track in Debrecen and overtaking his rivals on the outside.

The fourth series featured numerous overtakes. Defending champion continued his winning streak. In the 15th heat, Vaclav Milik and Patryk Dudek had an intense battle for the win, with Dudek, the fourth-placed rider in TAURON SEC 2023, coming out on top. Maciej Janowski overtook Leon Madsen on the track in the final heat of the series.

In the last series, Andzejs Lebedevs remained unbeaten for the fourth time, securing his spot in the final. Patryk Dudek finished second in the main phase. The last chance race featured Maciej Janowski, Jacob Thorssell, Mikkel Michelsen, and Kacper Woryna fighting for the final two spots in the final. Janowski and Thorssell advanced.

In the final, Patryk Dudek had the best start but made an error, causing him to crash on the first turn and get excluded from the restart. In the rerun, Andzejs Lebedevs emerged victorious after a thrilling battle, with Maciej Janowski and Jacob Thorssell completing the podium.

Final results, top three Speedway Euro Championship

    1. Lebedevs (LAT), 17 points
    2. Maciej Janowski (POL), 12+3 points
    3. Jacob Thorssell (POL), 11+2 points

FIM Europe Track Racing page
Tauron SEC