Road Racing

Results of the Road Racing European Championship final in Albacete

aboutuemGreat day of motorcycling today in the Spanish track of Albacete, where was held the Road Racing European Championship final. The weather was warm and sunny and the event was held with perfect organisation.

Carmelo Morales (Superstock 1000), Jordi Torres (Supersport 600) and Matteo Ferrari (125GP/Moto3) are the new 2012 European Champions, while the Junior titles went to Alberto Santamaria (Superstock 1000) and Angel Poyatos (Supersport 600).

Extremely well fought was the Superstock 1000 race with Spanish dominion and with the three-times European Champion (2008, 2009, 2010) Carmelo Morales (SPA-Kawasaki) who, starting from third position behind Adrian Bonastre (SPA-Suzuki) and Xavier Fores (SPA-BMW), managed at the 7th lap to take the lead and to keep it up to the end despite the attacks of the 2011 Champion Ivan Silva (SPA-Kawasaki), who managed to do a spectacular return from 8th position.

No story for the Supersport 600cc. race, with the 2011 champion Jordi Torres (SPA-Yamaha) leading from the first lap , followed by Oscar Climent (SPA-Yamaha). Behind them spectacular competition by three riders Jaroslav Cerny (SVK-Yamaha), Stefan Kerschbaumer (AUT-Yamaha) and Angel Poyatos (SPA-Yamaha) who fought for the podium that was at the end assigned to Austrian Stefan Kerschbaumer following the disqualification of Jaroslav Cerny and Oscar Climent because of irregularities to their motorcycles. The title of Junior European Champion was assigned as a consequence to Angel Poyatos (SPA-Yamaha).

Plenty of emotions for the 125GP/Moto3 class with Juanfran Guevara (SPA-Honda), Albert Arenas (SPA-Honda), Marcos Ramirez (SPA-Honda) and Frazer Rogers (GBR-KRP) in the lead positions after continuous reciprocal overtakes. At the seventh lap Ramirez and Arenas were involved in a ruinous fall that put them out of the race. The lead was taken then by Matteo Ferrari (ITA-Honda), Kevin Calia (ITA-Honda) and Josep Rodriguez (SPA-Honda), who were immediately followed by Guevara and Rogers. They also continued to put in place continuous overtakes, but at the 11th lap Rogers due to mechanical problems was forced to slow down. The last lap saw Ferrari taking firmly the lead of the race followed by Guevara and Calia. At the arrival line Ferrari managed to keep the lead becoming the new European Champion. Deserves to be highlighted the fourth position by the only woman in the race Maria Herrera (SPA-Honda).

The riders were awarded at the end of the respective races by the UEM President, Vincenzo Mazzi, by UEM Vice-President, Luigi Favarato, and by RFME President, Julian Martinez.

Next year Road racing European Championship was scheduled by Dorna again in Albacete on the 6th of October 2013.

For more infos and photos of the event check UEM official Facebook page:

Download here the full results standings:

Supersport 600 Results

Supersport 600 Junior Results

Superstock 1000 Results

Moto3 125GP Results