European Motocross 65-85 cc North West Championship First round in Emmen

IMG 2279 low EMX65

The start of the EMX 65

In the weekend of 4-5 April the North West European Motocross 65 and 85 cc Championship event was held in Emmen and for the first time it was organised by the MSV Motodrome Emmen.

During the week before the event the weather had been very rainy and the club made an excellent job preparing the circuit. At the start of the event, all conditions were perfect for good racing.
Both racing days benefitted from sunny weather, which allowed around 1.000 spectators to watch the event live in the track.
After the technical control there were 28 riders in the EMX65 class and 66 riders in the EMX85 class.    
The first heat of the EMX65 class was dominated by Dutch rider Kay Karssemakers. After the start he never lost the leadership until the chequered flag was given. He won with a gap of more then 23 seconds on Dutch rider Scott Smulders. Third place also went to a Dutch rider, Sem de Lange.            
In the second heat it was again Kay Karssemakers who led from start to finish, the second place was again for Scott Smulders. Third place in this heat was for Dutch rider Dave Kooiker. The overall standings sees a Dutch podium, with Kay Karssemakers first, Scott Smulders second and Dave Kooiker third.    
The first heat was a close race between Dutch rider Rick Elzinga and Danish rider Mikkel Ringfeldt Haarup. Rick Elzinga managed to pass Haarup at half race and kept his position until the end. Third was British rider Christoffer Mills at a respectable distance of 37 seconds from the winner.

IMG 2207 lox EMX 85

The start of the EMX 85

Haarup took the lead in the second heat and did not give it up till the end of the race. Rick Elzinga had a bad start but managed to get to second place. Third was again Christoffer Mills.
In the final score Haarup took first place before Elzinga, both with 47 points. Christoffer Mills is third with 40 points.
All results on FIM Europe website:
The next event will be in Lugau Germany on the 19th of April.