Individual Speedway Championship: QR3 and QR4

Individual Speedway Championship:
QR3 and QR4

The 2024 season of the SEC, the Individual Speedway Championship, gets into the heart with another double challenge. After last week QR1 in Hungary and QR2 in Austria, this time was the turn of QR3 and QR4, the final two qualifying rounds for the SEC Challenge.

The third qualifying round was held in Stralsund, Germany. Polish riders Maciej Janowski and Przemyslaw Pawlicki, and Danish rider and Rasmus Jensen set the pace from the beginning, securing their promotion to the SEC Challenge. Each scored 14 points in five starts, necessitating an extra race to determine the final order. In this race, “Magic” Janowski emerged victorious, with Pawlicki finishing second and Jensen third. But it was the French Dimitri Berge who secured the last qualifying spot for the Final in Latvia.

QR3 top four

  1. Maciej Janowski, POL, 14+3 points
  2. Przemyslaw Pawlicki, POL, 14+2
  3. Rasmus Jensen, DEN, 14+1
  4. Dimitri Berge, FRA, 11

The last qualifying round of the SEC took place at Stadion Matije Gubca in Krško, Slovenia. Due to the heavy rain in the days before the copetition, the jury decided to run the race without practice, which allowed the track to dry better in the hours before the race and be ready for tense battles in front of a large audience of 1.500 spectators. As expected, the Slovenian track was dominated by Polish riders. Mateusz Cierniak, a two-time U21 Individual World Champion, left no doubt by finishing first and scoring a perfect full 15 points. Piotr Pawlicki secured second place, only losing to Cierniak, while Czech rider Vaclav Milik completed the podium. An additional race determined the final qualifier for the SEC Challenge, with Andreas Lyager prevailing over Anze Grmek to secure the last spot.

QR4 top four

  1. Mateusz Cierniak, POL, 15 points
  2. Piotr Pawlicki, POL, 14
  3. Vaclav Milik, CZE, 12
  4. Andreas Lyager, DEN, 11+3

FIM Europe Track Racing page
Tauron SEC