SEC – Final 4: Leon Madsen is the new champion!

SEC – Final 4: Leon Madsen is the new champion!

In the Final 4 of the SEC – the Speedway European Championship, held in Pardubice, Czech Republic, the Dane Leon Madsen made up the loss to Janusz Kołodziej and grabbed the gold medal of the Individual European Championship. Silver went to Kołodziej, while bronze to Mikkel Michelsen.

Before the start of the meeting, Kołodziej was on the lead of the interim classification, and already in the first series he increased the advantage over Madsen. Both were scoring well, and ended the regular phase with 11 points each. That result meant, they compete in the ‘last chance’ heat, in which Madsen crossed the finish line as first, while Kołodziej was fourth. In the final, Madsen needed to win or to be second to win the title. And it happened. In the last heat of the whole series, Madsen took the first place and became the Individual European Champion.
Silver went to Janusz Kołodziej. The representative of Poland won rounds in Gustrow and Łódź, and he came to Pardubice as the leader of the interim classification of the series. He was fighting not only for gold, but also for the spot in SGP 2023. The four-time Polish Champion scored 11 points in the main phase, and it seemed like the fate of the title will be decided in the final, in which he could compete with Madsen. Overall, Kołodziej took the last place in barrage and didn’t advance to the final.
The fans witnessed a fascinating battle for the bronze medal. Patryk Dudek came to Pardubice with four points ahead of Michelsen, but this year’s title defender reduced the gap in no time. After three series, the Dane was the only undefeated rider, and after the regular phase, he advanced to the final, while Dudek finished the meeting with only seven points. At the end, Michelsen won the meeting, scored 14 points and left Pardubice with bronze.
The fifth rider of this year’s Individual European Championships is Dominik Kubera. The representative of Poland secured his spot in the next year series, racing only in three of four rounds. The battle about TOP 5 lasted till the very end. It was a great meeting for Rasmus Jensen, who after four series overtook Bartosz Smektała and was fifth, but fantastic Kubera scored 12 points and secured his spot in Tauron SEC 2023.

Standings – top five
1. Leon Madsen, DEN, 53 pts
2. Janusz Kołodziej, POL, 52 pts
3. Mikkel Michelsen, DEN, 45 pts
4. Patryk Dudek, POL, 42 pts
5. Dominik Kubera, POL, 33 pts

Final 4 results – top five
1. Mikkel Michelsen, DEN
2. Leon Madsen, DEN
3. Daniel Bewley, GBR
4. Dominik Kubera, POL
5. Janusz Kolodziej, POL

Visit the Track Racing page

Visit the SEC official Page