Enduro European Championship: day1 in Germany

Enduro European Championship:
day1 in Germany

Day 1 of the Borilli Enduro European Championship in Rüdersdorf, Germany, saw the Belgian Erik Willems crowned champion of all classes. The eleventh overall position was enough for the Husqvarna rider to grab the title.

“It went pretty well at first, but then I had a heavy crash at the beginning of the second lap in the extreme test, which cost me a minute. From then on, it was really just a fight to actually make it to the finish in one piece”.

Erik Willems

In the E2 class, however, the fight for the title is once again postponed to the last day.

With a class win, Italian Alessandro Rizza could also already secure the title. A 23-point lead can no longer be caught by Martin Gottvald. The title is all the more remarkable as the victory was achieved with a 125cc bike.

Alessandro Rizza

Carlo Minot celebrated his title early in the Junior 1 class: with his class victory, he extended his lead over Simone Cristini, who was only sixth this time, to an unassailable 22 points.

The championship was also decided in the women’s class: guest entrant Francesca Nocera from the Motocross World Championship won the day’s classification, but Briton Nieve Holmes was able to extend her lead in the championship ahead of Marie Vide Holt with a second place, so she took the title early.

Nieve Holmes

At the top of the overall standings, however, it was all about other riders: Italian Enrico Rinaldi, fought with German Jeremy Sydow. Rinaldi, who had been European Champion in the Junior class last year, led the field by a narrow margin. But the GasGas rider had already twisted his ankle in the very first special test and struggled throughout the day not only with the competition but also with his pain. On the last lap, former Motocross rider Sydow was able to pass. In the very last stage, the decision was made in favour of Rinaldi: he won the overall classification after one hour and eight minutes of special test time, just 4.39 seconds ahead of Sydow.

Enrico Rinaldi

In addition, here below the winners of the last round of the Vintage Enduro European Championship.

Vintage Classic 2 – Andreas Mosert, Germany
Vintage Classic 3 – David Gomez Carrion, Spain
Vintage Experte 1 – Massimo Pescia, Italy
Vintage Experte 2 – Xavier Castey Soler, Spain
Vintage Open 2 – Martin Novella, Germany
Vintage Open 3 – Ricard Martinez, Spain
Vintage Open 4 – Peter Zink, Germany

Live timing, information, results, standings and more:


Click here to visit our Enduro & Rally page