Road Racing

CEV Repsol: Martinez crowned ETC Champion in Valencia

CEV Repsol
Moto2 European Championship
Hawkers European Talent Cup:
Martinez crowned ETC Champion in Valencia

In front of 10.000 fans at the Circuit Ricardo Tormo, Maximo Martinez (Team Honda Laglisse) was crowned 2021 Champion on a phenomenal Sunday finale, as he wrapped up the Hawkers European Talent Cup title.
The Spaniard joins Fermin Aldeguer (Boscoscuro Team Ciatti) in becoming the 2021 Champions, as he won the Moto2™ European Championship in the next to last race.

Mr Martin de Graaff, FIM Europe President
“The last CEV Repsol round at Ricardo Tormo in Valencia was successful. It was a pleasure to attend this event together with the 1st Deputy President Mr Michal Sikora. We had the occasion to meet riders and teams, as well as the promoter. Next year the CEV will officially become JuniorGP and the provisional calendar has already been published. We’re looking forward to the next season”.

Race 1 in the Hawkers ETC saw Martinez show no signs of Championship leading pressure. The Spaniard fended off Jacob Roulstone (Leopard Impala Junior) to win, putting him 20 points clear of Xabi Zurutuza and fellow Cuna de Campeones rider Adrian Cruces heading into the final showdown. Despite a nervy race – which saw Martinez tackle a Long Lap Penalty and a drop one position penalty for exceeding track limits on the last lap – Martinez’ sixth place handed him the 2021 title, with Zurutuza and Cruces colliding and running into the gravel at Turn 12 on the last lap. Alvaro Carpe (MT-Foundation 77), after a crash in Race 1, notched up his second win of the season in Race 2, as Brian Uriarte (Team Estrella Galicia 0,0) and Roulstone made up the last podium of 2021.

There was only one race for the Moto2™ ECh riders to contend with, and Alonzo Lopez (Boscoscuro Team Ciatti) won for the second time this season in a red-flagged encounter. The race was stopped five laps from the end after Leon Orgis’ (Avintia Esponsorama Junior) machine spilt oil on the start/finish straight. This handed race leader Lopez victory over second place Aldeguer, with Lukas Tulovic (Liqui Moly Intact SIC Racing) picking up P3 as the top three in the overall standings celebrate the final podium of the season together.

Visit our Road Racing page

Visit CEV Repsol website