FIM Europe News

2023 FIM Europe Congress – Zaragoza – Day3

2023 FIM Europe Congress
Day 3

Zaragoza successfully delivered the FIM Europe General Assembly.


From left: Josè Ramon Garcia (Treasurer), Stijn Rentmeesters, Alessandro Sambuco (General Secretary), Roy N. Wetterstad (2nd Deputy President), Jorge Viegas (FIM President), Michal Sikora (FIM Europe President), Manuel Marinheiro (1st Deputy President), Francesco Carmelo Mezzasalma, Nicoleta Melania Olariu, Jean Marc Desnues, Juhani Halme.

The 27th edition of the FIM Europe Congress has officially ended with the third and last day of meetings in Zaragoza, Spain. The perfect location for the RFME, that for its 100th anniversary decided to stage this esteemed gathering in the city where the Spanish Federation has been founded.

In the morning, the FIM Europe Management Council met in view of the General Assembly, which took place in the afternoon in the presence of FIM President Mr Jorge Viegas and the representatives of 31 National Federations.

Before the beginning of the Assembly, FIM Europe President Mr Michal Sikora invited to a minute of silence to honour Enduro rider Jaroslav Diro, tragically passed away during the Super Test at the fifth round of the 2023 FIM EnduroGP World Championship held in Gelnica, Slovakia.

Following the welcome of RFME President Mr Manuel Casado, Zaragoza Sports Councillor Mr Félix Brocarte Puri and FIM President Mr Jorge Viegas, the 2023 Congress begun with the approval of the minutes of the 2022 General Assembly in Bucharest and the official report of FIM Europe President Mr Michal Sikora at the end of his first year of mandate. Then the stage went to FIM Europe Treasurer Mr José Ramón García and the Chairman of the Internal Auditors Mr Laurent Delbroek for their reports.

After the presentation of the 2022 balance sheet and the 2023 budget approval, the Chairman of the Sporting Council Mr Manuel Marinheiro and Beyond Sporting Councils Mr Roy N. Wetterstad presented their reports and Mr Geir Egil Lilletvedt has been elected member of the Judicial Panel.

Therefore, long and loyal service awards were presented to the following National Federations:

  • ACU – 120th anniversary
  • FFM – 110th anniversary
  • RFME – 100th anniversary
  • SMF – 30th anniversary
  • AMOTOE – 20th anniversary
  • TMF – 20th anniversary

For their long committee in the FIM Europe family a special awardee also to:

  • Mr Martin de Graaff – Honorary President
  • Mr Silvio Manicardi – Honorary Vice-President
  • Mr Eddie Herd – Honorary Chairman of the Motocross & Snowcross Commission
  • Mr Marco Bolzonello – Honorary Chairman of the Enduro & Rally Commission
  • Dr Reinhard Kraenzler – Honorary Chairman of the Medical Panel
  • Mr Adamo Leonzio – Honorary Chairman of the Environment Commission
  • Mr Rodolfo Romeo – Honorary Chairman of the Judicial Panel


At the end of the General Assembly, FMI President Mr Giovanni Copioli announced that next year the Italian Motorcycles Federation will cooperate with the FIM Europe for the organization of the 2024 FIM Europe Congress in Rome. Therefore, Mr Andrzej Witkowski, Honorary Vice President of the FIM Europe, presented the candidature for hosting the 2026 FIM Europe Congress in Warsaw.

Michal Sikora – FIM Europe President

“I’m very pleased with the results of the 27th FIM Europe Congress, where important decisions have been taken. The cooperation during all these days was excellent and there was a pleasant atmosphere for all the delegates. Zaragoza was a delicious venue and RFME was a great host. I would like to thank the RFME President Mr Manuel Casado and his staff for the great hospitality and perfect organization”.

FIM Europe Congress
Real Federación Motociclista Española