About FIM Europe News

European Moto2 and Superbike at Albacete (Spain)


Steven Odendaal (RSA-Kalex, in photo1) dominated Moto2™ while Maximilian Scheib (CHI-BMW, in photo2) and Carmelo Morales (SPA-Yamaha) each took a win in Superbike.

In Moto2™, Steven Odendaal (RSA-Kalex) made good on his pole position to achieve his fourth win of the season, followed by Tetsuta Nagashima (JPN-Kalex) and Alan Techer (FRA-NTS T Pro). Starting on the front row of the grid for the first time, Iker Lecuona (SPA-Kalex) eventually finished fifth behind Eric Granado (BRA-Kalex) with Augusto Fernández (SPA-Tech3), who set off third, falling early on while in second place behind the championship leader.
In the podium ceremony, the South African AGR Team rider was awarded the Repsol free fuel cheque.
With more than half the season completed, Steven Odendaal has consolidated his lead of the Moto2™ European Championship, with 136 points compared to Tetsuta Nagashima’s 88 points and Eric Granado’s 85. Rafid Topan Sucipto (INA-Honda) was the best rider in the Superstock 600 category which is currently led by Ivo Paixao (POR-Kawasaki) on 115 points.
Maximilian Scheib (CHI-BMW) won the first Superbike European Championship race, ending Carmelo Morales’ (SPA-Yamaha) winning streak of three victories which had challenged the Chilean rider’s leadership. Anthony Delhalle (FRA-Suzuki) joined them on the podium in a race where Santiago Barragán (SPA-BMW) was the most notable absentee after breaking his leg in a fall in the qualifying sessions. Niko Mäkinen (FIN-Yamaha) finished as the best privateer rider, and was sixth overall in the race.
Carmelo Morales and Maximilian Scheib pulled clear in the early laps leaving Anthony Delhalle riding alone. With two laps to go, the Chilean Targobank Easyrace SBK Team rider overtook his Yamaha Laglisse rival to cross the finish line alone and take victory and the Repsol free fuel cheque.
However, in the second Superbike European Championship race of the day Carmelo Morales overturned the leaderboard when he took his fourth win of the season, with leader Maximilian Scheib only able to manage ninth place after a fall. Anthony Delhalle repeated his podium by finishing second ahead of Alejandro Medina, who although injured earned a well-deserved third place.
The race was almost a foregone conclusion after only four laps when Maximilian Scheib went down while chasing leader Morales. The Chilean rider managed to return to the track to try to pick up some points, while Anthony Delhalle and Alejandro Medina comfortably consolidated their second and third positions.
Carmelo Morales was awarded the Repsol free fuel cheque and this time best Privateer rider was Pierluigi Diego (ARG-Yamaha), who had fallen in the first race.
Morales is the new leader of the Superbike European Championship on 120 points, followed by Maximilian Scheib with 113 and Anthony Delhalle with 75, while Niko Mäkinen (FIN-Yamaha) is the leader of the Privateer class.
The next FIM CEV Repsol meeting – the sixth of the season – takes place in the Autódromo Internacional do Algarve in Portimao (Portugal) on the 27th and 28th of August.

The actual issue of FIM Europe MAG is online and can be downloaded here.