Road Racing

CEV Repsol Moto2 European Championship and European Talent Cup: Valencia crown the European champions

CEV Repsol Moto2 European Championship and European Talent Cup: Valencia crown the European champions

Last round of the CEV Repsol Moto2 European Championship and European Talent Cup at Ricardo Tormo Circuit, in Valencia, Spain.
A thrilling weekend for the FIM Europe with the special presence of FIM Europe President Mr Martin de Graaff.

Mr Martin de Graaff, FIM Europe President
“The last CEV Repsol races were wonderful. Many riders participate in the fight for the last points until the last. A huge group of 59 riders showed up in the European Talent Cup, so practicing and racing in two groups was necessary. In the Moto2 the number of riders was 30 and they give us nice races. The weekend ended very well. FIM Europe thanks all the involved people of the CEV Repsol organization and Dorna for the great season”.

Moto2 championship podium

Edgar Pons ended his Moto2™ ECh season by winning the final race. As soon as the light went out, Héctor Garzó (CNS Motorsport) made good on his pole start to take the lead. Miquel Pons (H43 Nobby Talasur Blumaq) threw away his podium chances when he went down on the first lap.
Héctor Garzó and Edgar Pons pulled clear as the laps went past. Behind them, Tommaso Marcon (Team Ciatti Speed Up) and Yari Montella (Team Ciatti Speed Up) were fighting for the last podium slot. On the last lap, Edgar Pons overtook Héctor Garzó, who had led for the entire race. Tommaso Marcon did the same to Yari Montella in the last corner. However, a dangerous maneuver on the final straight was sanctioned by Race Management and Marcon lost third place in favor of his teammate.
The championship ends with Edgar Pons as champion, Héctor Garzó second and Alessandro Zaccone (Promoracing) in third position.

Moto2 race podium

Iván Ortolá closed the season in the ETC as he began: by winning. The Ángel Nieto Junior Team rider took his third win of the season in a thrilling race that was not decided until the last lap. Fermín Aldeguer (Mugen Race Junior Team), Lorenzo Fellon (ZF GP School), Marcos Ruda (Cuna de Campeones), Diego Moreira (Talent Team Estrella Galicia 0,0), Adrián Cruces (Talent Team Estrella Galicia 0,0), David Alonso (Ángel Nieto Junior Team), José Antonio Rueda (Talent Team Estrella Galicia 0,0), Roberto García (MRE Talent) and Joel D. Kelso (Leopard Impala Junior) formed the group of riders in with a chance of the podium.
On the tenth lap, Lorenzo Fellon and David Alonso went down while Diego Moreira crashed with two laps left. Iván Ortolá won the race and was joined by Fermín Aldeguer and Adrián Cruces on the podium, with Marcos Ruda just out of the honours in fourth. However, Izan Guevara (Cuna de Campeones) finishes as ETC champion followed in the general classification by Iván Ortolá, runner-up, and Fermín Aldeguer in third.

ETC championship podium

ETC race podium